RSS

Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner all before 6 a.m.(The full one this time)

28 Sep

Today I’m feeling very productive.  I was up at 5:30 this morning, and all at one time I had breakfast in the oven, dinner in the crock pot, and was making my men their lunches for the day.  I’m going to go ahead and pat myself on the back! As most of you know I started my breakfast adventure last night, Baked French Toast.

Here was the first step, which was all prepared the night before, which made it simple that morning.  I ripped up my bread, which relieved some stress, then mixed all the eggs/milk/cream/sugar up, poured it over it and wall-a, it’s ready for the morning, after I covered it and made room in my fridge for a 9×13, which isn’t exactly simple!  Well, it was now time, 5:35, to pull it out and finish it up, I had made the topping the night before too, butter/brown sugar/cinnamon/flour, in the directions it says that it’s supposed to be crumbly, well I must have got too carried away mixing because mine was a big hard chunk this morning, but no need to worry, I improvised!!  I just sliced it off in little thin slivers and covered it all…

It was now time to pop it in the oven, and I cannot wait for it to be done. I still had some extra time to kill, I guess that happens when you get up waaaaaaaaaaaay before anybody else does in the house, but that’s ok. So I decided to start dinner, we’re having Balsamic Chicken tonight, I put it all in the crock pot, I even added some fresh parsley for extra flavor and it made it pretty, well pretty until I added the tomatoes, and as pretty as raw chicken can be at 5:45 in the morning!!

I didn’t take a picture post tomatoes because it covered all my pretty up!!  Now, lunches were packed, dinner was marinating until it was time to push the “all systems clear” button before I walked out the door, and breakfast was baking away.  With all that going I headed out to the shower, I’ll spare you the details and photos of me getting ready, not a good photography material!!  I was just about ready and I heard the buzzer, I had to use some self-control not to run to the kitchen, so I walked fast down the hall, and the closer I got to the kitchen the stronger the wonderful aroma was.  So I hurried and pulled it out of the oven, and I couldn’t wait, I had to pull a piece off the top, at a steaming 350 degrees I nearly burnt my fingers and tongue(which I hate doing it takes days for it to be normal again) but was it ever worth it!!  There was this crusty sugary-buttery goodness on the top and a moist bread on the bottom, oh my, amazing.  You have to make this, it wasn’t hard at all.  I did everything the night before, the hardest part was finding room in my fridge for a 9×13 pan!!  All I had to do today was “slice” my topping on and pop it in the oven. Oh, and I did have a piece (or two) for breakfast with maple syrup, it was heaven!  Ta-da….there it is!!!

I think that I’ve been productive enough for the day, dinner is cooking as I type, breakfast and lunch are outta the way, time to relax, I wish!!  I must go now, now that you all are hungry from the pictures and imagining how yummy this was, it’s time to get busy on real life instead of my kitchen life!!!  Hope you enjoyed it, I know I sure did….. 🙂

-angela

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner all before 6 a.m.(The full one this time)

  1. Lettie Grill

    October 19, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Very good suggestions, you just gained a brand new reader. Im curious if you have any follow ups to this post?

     

Tell me what you think...

 
