RSS

There’s always one..(The winner has been chosen)

03 Oct

Ok, let me try this again, for some reason my page is eating my posts, I have it all typed up and pretty, then post it and bam, nothing there.  So here we go again…

It’s a mystery I just can seem to solve, maybe it’s another wonder of the world, I dont’ know.  Why is it that when I buy bananas, even if I just buy 2, there’s always one left, one hyper-pigmented-squishy, yucky looking banana.  Today I started my day off a little different, usually I get up, go make lunches, half asleep then hit the shower.  Well today, I got up a littler earlier so I showered first then headed to the kitchen to make lunches, so I was a little more awake, aware of my surroundings.  I walked in to the kitchen, and there it was..

Eww, is there anything uglier than a banana laying on the counter ripening at mach speed. I sure don’t think so, I know some can eat them at this state, but man not me, yuck, the thought of that dry-squishy ripening banana just makes me want to gag(sorry for the gross details)!! I have found a new recipe lately that I really like to use, Banana Nut Baked Oatmeal (is it bad that every time I spell Banana, I have to sing the song, “banana’s, b-a-n-a-n-a-s” that’s not the name, but most will know what I’m talking about), ok ADD kicked in got off track.  Back to the baked oatmeal, this does go over good with my boys, but do I want to make this every time I have a leftover one, not really.  If I attempt to freeze them, and JN sees them in the freezer he literally about throws up right there on the spot, such a weak stomach, but then again he is male!!  So, I’m reaching out  to you guys, I want to know what you do with your “ugly” bananas, my banana bread calls for 3 ripen/mashed ones, but I usually don’t have 3, I have one. So I’m turning this into a giveaway, you tell me what you do with yours, even if you just chunk them, via comment, and it will enter you to win a ….

Pampered Chef Cranberry Microfiber Kitchen Towel (yes I have another to give away), winner will be chosen by random.org

So leave me your thoughts, and enlighten me to new ideas!!!

Your comment may not show up right away, I have to approve, I’ll do it as quick as I can. Don’t forget to check back tomorrow to see who the winner is..

-angela

 
37 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

37 responses to “There’s always one..(The winner has been chosen)

  1. Aurora

    October 3, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I throw mine into a gallon ziplock and into the freezer, then thaw them as I need them. But my very favorite thing to make with them is a sour cream banana chocolate chip bundt cake. The guys at work go “bananas” over it! =) Also, once a week or so, I make a fruit salad with whatever fruit is starting to look like nobody is going to eat it. I mix it all together with a container of Greek yogurt and some toasted coconut. We also slice bananas up over pancakes, french toast, or waffles.

     
  2. Heidi

    October 3, 2011 at 9:38 am

    Only 1…I would just chuck it. Never thought of freezing them though!

     
  3. Brooke Jones

    October 3, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Smoothies alla breakfast. I always take the stray bannana and add frozen strawberries with à scoop of protien and chocolat dark to milk. Its the best hidder of rapid bannana ripe.

     
  4. sarahjackson

    October 3, 2011 at 10:20 am

    today the only thing i had to eat when i got to work was “one of those” bananas so i just picked out the bad parts and ate the good parts!

     
  5. Kate

    October 3, 2011 at 10:32 am

    I freeze the really over- ripe bananas. We make a breakfast shake with the frozen ones, but also can save up to make banana bread.

     
  6. Kim

    October 3, 2011 at 10:32 am

    I make banana pancakes.

     
  7. Cindy S

    October 3, 2011 at 11:30 am

    I would throw it in the freezer (clevely hiden in a colored container so no one throws up) and save until you have three bananas or else use with strawberries for a Smoothie.

     
  8. Karen B

    October 3, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Most of the time we chunk it but once in a blue moon, I will make banana nut bread.

     
  9. macmaker

    October 3, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    I freeze mine and then use them in smoothies. That way you don’t have to use any ice. I also use it in oatmeal as a sweetener instead of sugar…just boil some steel cut oats with water/soy milk, thrown the banana in while it cooks and holy moley, that is some delish oatmeal. It doesn’t even taste too much like banana.

     
  10. krissi

    October 3, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I freeze my bananas and use them with grated carrots ( which sometimes grow “hair”) before they go bad, in banana carrot bread. Yum…it is goood. Sometimes I put a topping on it that has oats, pecans, brown sugar and butter on it. Eight “ripe” bananas make about 2 loaves and 12 muffins. Freezes great.

     
  11. Stephanie Hobson

    October 3, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Mash it up with peanut butter and eat it with a spoon!

     
  12. Pat Helmuth

    October 3, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Pat
    October 3, 2011 at 4:17 PM

    I freeze my bananas and break them in 1/2 and put in freezer bag. I make a chocolate
    protein shade and add 1/2 of a banana to it,

     
  13. Ashley Booth

    October 3, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Ha! I have 5 kids, there is never a lonely banana left on the counter, but I do keep some hidden to ripen to make banana nut bread and muffins!

     
  14. Courtnie

    October 3, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I usually throw one away, but this is the 2nd time in the past 3 days that I can freeze the whole banana, so thats what I am going to start doing is freezing them!

     
  15. a little tête-à-tête

    October 4, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Okay, trust me – this will change your life (well, kind of! lol). Cut them up and freeze them (hide them!), then blend them up in the food processor with a splash of skim milk. Blend them until smooth, and viola! ICE CREAM! Mix in some mini chocolate chips, and I swear it tastes like ice cream. YUMMY!!

    Thank you for the chance … lisagoneaussie (at) gmail.com

     
  16. Melissa McIrvin Neumer

    October 4, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I toss them in the freezer, I been trying a different banana bread recipe each week until we find the ONE!

     
  17. doggydessertchef

    October 4, 2011 at 9:08 am

    They are perfect for smoothies!

     
  18. cheryl Barker

    October 4, 2011 at 9:09 am

    I freeze them for banana bread or banana cake with cream cheese frosting. Yummm.

     
  19. Rani Hall

    October 4, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Well I don’t like Banana’s. I like the flavor but can’t do the texture, so I LOOOVEEEEE when people who do like them, make some banana bread and share. LOL!!!!

     
  20. Jess Nick

    October 4, 2011 at 9:16 am

    We will smash up the banana and make it a filling for french toast. Just spread the banana on one side of the bread and then place the second piece over it like a sandwich. Then dip in french toast mixture and smash the sides with a fork to form a pillow and cook. Nice little surprise inside.

     
  21. Lisa V-W

    October 4, 2011 at 9:18 am

    over. the. fence…

     
  22. kevin

    October 4, 2011 at 9:28 am

    i usually take 1 bite cause i dont want it to go to waste then it goes in the garbage..

     
  23. Melissa

    October 4, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Love it

     
  24. Rosie

    October 4, 2011 at 10:14 am

    I send them next door to my mother in law who in turns freezes them. Then at a later date she surprises me with a loaf of banana bread.

     
  25. Tina Williams Fisher

    October 4, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I trash mine, but would love to have some good ideas on putting them to good use!

     
  26. Keri

    October 4, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Ummm…there is only one answer to a nasty squishy ugly banana…throw it in the trash. Unless the husband gets to it and eats it before I chunk it.

     
  27. Amanda Cruz

    October 4, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I make banana waffles. One is enough for the two big waffles (one for me and one for my boyfriend!)

     
  28. Ashleigh

    October 4, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Sometimes I freeze them, most of the time I just chuck ’em in the garbage! Hubby doesn’t like to see the nasty looking ones in the freezer either!

     
  29. Nichole

    October 4, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I make banana pancakes! Yummy!

     
  30. Ashley Davis

    October 4, 2011 at 11:35 am

    You can peel the banana, mash it and sprinkle that fruit saver powder. Make sure you keep track of how many you have in the bag and date it. Then put that bag into a walmart plastic sack, write on it what is inside. Then put in your freezer. Then nobody will get sick from seeing the mashed banana. You can save up for banana bread. 🙂

     
  31. Emily Benefield

    October 4, 2011 at 11:37 am

    My daughter and her best friend LOVE an afternoon snack. They love it when I have an over-ripe banana to make snack sandwiches! Instead of jelly, I mash a banana and mix in some honey. Spread it with some peanut butter on bread, the kids love it. They always wish there were two over-ripe bananas so they can have more. 🙂

     
    • What's for dinner?

      October 4, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      If my son would eat a peanut butter sandwich this would be a great idea!!

       
  32. blthoen

    October 4, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Banana Cake with chocolate frosting 🙂

     
  33. Marlaine

    October 4, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Smoothies for dessert!

     
  34. wwwljc

    October 8, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Hi. I agree with you – 100% +. Thank you for the information. Piter.

     

Tell me what you think...

 
