RSS

Nothing wrong with being a chicken…

07 Oct

As most know, tonight my husband is dragging me to a haunted house, and I’m one of the biggest chickens when it comes to scary things that there probably is.  I think I have had anxiety about this all week, considering they told me on Monday, and I haven’t slept well, I know that’s what it is!!  So, I figured this would be an appropriate time to discuss our dinner last night, considering we had….CHICKEN!!  I made homemade chicken strips, mashed baked potatoes, and corn.  A small little dinner, but oh so good!!

More about the fried goodness of homemade chicken strips…yesterday morning I drug the little chicken tenders out of the freezer, quickly ran them under hot water to get the littler soaker pad thing off the bottom, then filled up a shallow covered dish with salt water and let them soak all day in that.  When I got home I took them out and drained them, cracked 2 eggs in a dish, added a little splash of milk and dumped them in.  Next I mixed up 2 cups or so of flour, few dashes of salt, and some season salt(I don’t like pepper, so add if you must).  Then I went on to dredge them in flour, put them back in the milk/egg and back in the flour again, I wanted them good covered, lots of fried flour!!!  Then into the ‘ol trusty cast iron they went…

I let them cook for about 20-30 minutes, until they’re good and crispy, I just want to make sure they’re good and done, but not too dry!! When they’re done they look like this…

Ta-da, don’t mind my paper towel, I didn’t take the time to transfer to a prettier plate to take a picture, we were all hungry!!!

 

And there’s the big chickens-chicken strips!!

4-5 Chicken Tenders

2 Eggs

1/3 Cup milk

2 cups (or more of flour)

1/2 T salt

1/2 T Seasoned Salt

Canola oil for frying, I usually fill my skillet up about 1/2 inch.

Doulbe dip your tenders, egg/milk flour-then egg/milk again and back into the flour, fry for 20-30 min on med/high heat….

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tell me what you think...

 
