RSS

Snug as a bug..

08 Oct

Every night when I tuck my little guy in bed I always say”ok, you’re snug as a bug in a rug”, as I tuck the covers in around him.  He always says “do it ONE more time, but make me bounce when you tuck me in”, and of course I do it, but I really think it’s a ploy to stay up a little bit longer!!  Things like this I’m going to miss when he gets bigger and doesn’t want mom to tuck him in bed anymore, I know I’m going to be sad just like when he finally gets to 16 and won’t be home all the time or he doesn’t want to hop up on the kitchen counter and help me cook.  Well today my little buddy wasn’t home, but I went ahead and cooked anyway, without him.  Today I made Bacon Wrapped Lil Smokies, and man were they good. 

But……I have to admit, I was scared(residual from last nights spook house against my will), ok so maybe not, but I was afraid of the brown sugar, I wasn’t 100% sure we would like it, so I went sparingly with it, and I probably shouldn’t have, but that’s ok, they were still good, just would have been better drownded in brown sugar!!  So this recipe that calls for 3/4 cup of brown sugar, do it, cause apparently everybody else but me is!!!  I overall give this recipe two thumbs up, they were great, somewhat time-consuming, just because I cut the bacon pieces in half then wrapped the lil smokies up and stuck a toothpick in them, but it wasn’t bad, plus there’s no other way to do it, and I really didn’t have anything else to do. And I don’t see why you couldn’t make these ahead, pop them in the fridge and into the oven when you were ready to bake.  Be sure though that you bake them in a pan with sides cause there’s a little,or a lot, of grease that oozes out, and then I transferred them to a paper towel to soak up what was left.  So here’s your next appetizer when the time calls!!

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Snug as a bug..

  1. Stephanie Hobson

    October 9, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    This sounds yummy, and making them up ahead of time is a great idea. I cook bacon on a rack in the oven and line the pan with foil… thus a lot of the grease drains off and it’s much easier to clean up. Wonder if you could cook these the same way?

     
    • What's for dinner?

      October 9, 2011 at 12:59 pm

      I don’t see why not, its basically the same concept, I’ve cooked the bacon in the oven before, but it takes too long for me, I’m inpatient..

       
  2. Stephanie Hobson

    October 9, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I’m quite impatient too, so I try to cook a whole package ahead of time, like in the evening, and reheat it when I need it. But there’s just the two of us in my house now, me and my husband, so a pound of cooked bacon will last us for awhile… or at least it should! Very convenient for snacking though.

     

Tell me what you think...

 
