RSS

Sorry Rachael Ray, but it was a flop!

12 Oct

Well, as most of you know last night on my menu was Bacon Wrapped Herb Chicken, a Rachael Ray recipe.  Usually I’m not too, oh, wild and crazy in the kitchen, meaning trying things with lots of spices and/or herbs.  Well I decided to step out of my box/comfort zone last night, but from the reactions of JN, E, and myself, I should have stayed in it!!!

I think that it was just waaaay too much Thyme, and don’t get me wrong, I love Thyme, just in small amounts, not 2 TBSP.  I was good about following the recipe exactly how it was, which I usually don’t, but I wanted an accurate review.  While I was making it JN came in the kitchen, took one look, and said, “Uh, is that going to be any good?” and of course I responded with, “Of course, now get out of here!”, sad to admit…….he was accurate on his assumption!  The recipe called to bake it on wire cooling racks over a baking sheet.  Well I have wire cooling racks, but they’re all coated with something, and I was afraid it would melt, so I used my broiler rack pan thing instead.  Well at one point I opened my over and I thought it was on fire, all the grease from the chicken and the bacon was smokin’ like crazy, I thought, oh no, I’m going to set my stinkin oven on fire!  So I pulled it out and switched it over to a regular 9×13 pan, and stuck it back in.  The recipe called for a good 45 minutes, or until the bacon was crispy and chicken was done, and I can tell you that it was far from 45 minutes, and I know I swapped it out and cooled the oven down a little, but still, there was no way it was happening.  So finally when I thought it was cooked through I pulled it out and made it all pretty on a plate, snapped some pictures for proof that it was pretty, well, all but my one bay leaf I burnt(oopsy!), yes I took a pic of that too.

Here's the burnt bay leaf..

So I put it on the table, we all set down, it was JN’s turn to say the prayer, we take turns each night, then we all fix our plates. E was more worried about eating the bacon wrapped around the chicken, his side dishes and what he was drinking, JN grabbed a leg, and ate it, I took a thigh, tried it, and said, “Ugh, I’m not eating that”, JN says, “oh, thank goodness you said that, I thought it was disgusting!”, and of course E chimes in cause we all say it, and it gets him out of eating something!!!  So the puppies got a lovely dish of bacon wrapped herb chicken!!  On the flip side, it was pretty and it smelt good, once you got passed the smoke!!

The final product

So there it is, there was my flop of a dinner for the night, JN says I should just ask him in advance before making something, he can tell me whether or not it’s going to be good, maybe he should be writing my blog, ha!!!

-angela

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Sorry Rachael Ray, but it was a flop!

  1. Roxie

    October 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    LOL…..I can’t wait to tell your brother about this:) I always try new stuff and usually it is okay but there are the times when……well let’s say even the dogs question whether they should eat it or not!!! Did you use 2 tbsp of fresh thyme or dried? The recipe sounds really good but I’ll take your word for it and not try it!!!

     
    • What's for dinner?

      October 12, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      Oh gosh, that’s all he needs is more leverage!! Most everything I’ve tried new has been a success, but not this!! I used fresh, well my Thyme was, but rosemary was dried. It was just too much, Murphy and Reece loved it, needless to say they ate well!!!

       
  2. Aaron

    October 12, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Hmm looks interesting! I guess we’ll have to tell Rachel Ray, eh?
    Asian Recipes at Home: kubeen81.blogspot.com

     
    • What's for dinner?

      October 13, 2011 at 9:09 am

      You can tell her if you’d like, I did stick it out here on the world wide web for all to see, but I think there’s like a 1 in a million chance she’s reading my blog about her dinner!!

       
  3. Whitney

    October 13, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I’ve never been a fan of her recipes. I’m willing to take a few steps out of my box, but I refuse to let it out of my sight!

     
    • What's for dinner?

      October 13, 2011 at 9:17 am

      Well, I thought I would give it a try, but I’m afraid I won’t be trying too many more!!! Maybe next week I’ll add a Paula Deen or something a little safer!!

       

Tell me what you think...

 
