RSS

My Taco Soup and Cornbread

27 Oct

Last night, well, actually yesterday morning I started my taco soup in the crock pot, while I love the “idea” of the crock pot and the not having to cook when I get home, I just don’t think there’s anything better than cooking soup in my dutch oven on the stove top and letting in simmer, oh and STIRRING it!!  I know there’s a lot, and I mean a lot of people who just l-o-v-e theirs, and I think I just like mine, but I guess what I’m getting at is that it did a heck of a job on my taco soup, but I really like soup cooked on the stove!!  I know, totally random thought, I just had to get that out there, that I am not much of a crock pot cooker, even though I try every now and then!!

Anyways, back to dinner, I did make the taco soup and I added a can of the “new” Rotel tomato sauce, I really couldn’t tell a difference, I guess maybe it could’ve added a little kick, will I buy and use it again, probably not.

However, I did have to cook the cornbread when I got home, super easy and super good.  I chickened out though, I’m a weenie when it comes to hot stuff, I just can’t do it, like extra mild picante sauce is almost too warm, I left the jalapenos out and just made the same recipe, minus that hot stuff.

I mixed it all up, well, thought I had, and poured into my cast iron skillet(that’s what I decided to bake it in) and thought to myself, man that looks kind of runny, well hello, I forgot to mix in the 3rd box of cornbread mix, oops!!  So I sprinkled it all on top, really lightly stirred it in, only flicked a little out on the counter, then popped it in the oven, 45 minutes later, we had sweet, moist, thick, yummy cornbread, it was delish, you have to try it if you haven’t, and you can do it with or without jalapenos!!! Oh, and one other thing, I used Jiffy Cornbread mix, the boxes are slightly bigger than what the recipe calls for, but I just used it all anyway, it worked!

Here was my bowl full from last night!

Taco Soup

  • 1 pound Ground Beef, Browned And Drained (or 3 Cups Leftover Cooked Meat, Chopped)
  • 28 ounces, weight Canned Crushed Or Diced Tomatoes
  • 2 cups To 3 Cups Chicken Broth Or Beef Stock (depending On How Thick You Like Your Soup.)
  • 1 envelope (1 Oz. Packet) Ranch Dressing Mix
  • 1 envelope (about 1 Oz. Package) Taco Or Enchilada Seasoning (omit If Using Seasoned Leftover Meat)
  • 15 ounces, weight Ranch Style Beans
  • 2 cups Frozen Corn Kernels

Slow Cooker Directions:

In a slow cooker crock, stir together meat, tomatoes, dressing and seasoning mixes,  (if using)black beans, chili beans with sauce, pinto beans(or whatever beans you have that you’re using) and corn. Place lid on crock, turn slow cooker to ‘LOW’ and cook for 6-8 hours.

Serve with or without toppings. Store leftovers, tightly covered, in the refrigerator for up to a week. You can also portion the leftover soup into individual servings and store in the freezer for up to 6 months.

Stovetop Directions:

Stir together meat, tomatoes, dressing and seasoning mixes (if using) black beans, chili beans with sauce, pinto beans(or whichever beans you’re using) and corn in an appropriately-sized soup pot. Place lid on pot, put pot over medium-low heat and bring to a simmer. Remove the lid and allow to simmer gently for 30-40 minutes or until soup is slightly thickened.

Jalapeno Cornbread(or no Jalapeno)

  • 3 packages (7 Oz. Package) Cornbread Mix
  • 1 whole Large Sweet Onion, Diced
  • 2 cups Shredded Colby Monterey Jack Cheese
  • 2 whole Large Eggs, Beaten
  • 2-½ cups Whole Milk Or Buttermilk
  • ½ cups Vegetable Oil
  • 3 teaspoons Sugar
  • 1 can (15 Ounce) Creamed Corn
  • 6 ounces, weight Chopped Jalapenos

Mix ingredients together and pour into a greased 9×13-inch pan. Bake for 45 minutes at 375 degrees until golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Taco Soup and Cornbread

  1. Lisa V-W

    October 27, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I LOVE Jiffy mix too. And an EASY cornbread or souffle is to omit all liquid and use cream corn AND sour cream (I still add eggs.) And my southern friend also included an entire stick of melted buttu; whew.

     
    • What's for dinner?

      October 27, 2011 at 10:06 am

      Oh that sounds good, I might have to try it, well I add enough butter before I eat it, I probably don’t need to add more when I’m cooking too!!!!!

       
  2. Andini Reign

    October 27, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    this one is obviously very helpful to decide whats for tonight’s dinner!! i love your menu!

     

Tell me what you think...

 
