RSS

Do as I say not as I do!!

02 Nov

So, last night I went ahead and decided on making Whoopie Pies, with the help of my little “I wanna do that” “Let me do it” assistant.  I was kind of excited to make them, I never have before and it had marshmallow cream in the recipe, and I love marshmallow cream!!

We mixed and baked away, with some minor arguing, of, me “hang on let me do it”, and him “Ugh, you never let me do ANYTHING”, but we made it. We finally got them all baked and transferred over to the cooling rack, and I remember looking at them when they were baking, cause they bake fast, and thinking that they weren’t as fluffy as all the pictures that I’ve seen, but oh well.  I got everything out to make the yummy, creamy filling, once again with my, “I can do that by myself” assistant, and kind of read back over the recipe, and “Doh”, I forgot the baking soda, which equaled flat little chocolate whoopie cookies!!  I’m not trying to pass the buck or anything, because I may have forgotten to put the sugar in a pumpkin pie once, but I had a little distraction when trying to get everything together and read the recipe off my phone at the same time!!  But we went ahead and made them, flat and all, after I finally convinced E to not stick all of his fingers in the frosting bowl we got all the sandwiches made, and they turned out perfect!!!

 

My flat little sandwich

 

Whoopie Pies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup milk

 

Preparation

  • Preheat oven to 425°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.
  • Make cakes: Sift flour, unsweetened cocoa, baking soda and salt together into a bowl. Cream butter and sugar in a large bowl of an electric mixer at high speed until fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add egg and beat at medium speed until fully incorporated. Change mixer speed to low and add dry ingredients, alternating with milk, mixing until just blended.
  • Drop batter 1/2 Tbsp. at a time and about 2 inches apart onto each sheet to make 18 cakes per baking sheet. Bake for 7 minutes, until mini cakes are springy to touch. Let cool on pan for 5 minutes, and then transfer to racks to cool completely. Change parchment paper and repeat to make 72 cakes.
  • Match cakes in pairs so tops and bottoms are similar in shape. Spread bottoms with cream filling and cover with top.
  • For Cream Filling, combine 1 stick of unsalted butter and 1 2/3 cups confectioners’ sugar in a bowl and beat at low speed until blended. Then beat at high speed until mixture is fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract and 2 cups marshmallow cream; mix at low speed until blended well. (Makes 2 1/3 cups)

Ta-Da!!!

-angela
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tell me what you think...

 
