RSS

Easy Stuffed Peppers

09 Nov

Stuffed Bell Peppers, this isn’t a frequent flyer on my menu, but just an every now and then kind of thing.  I don’t know why, cause they’re super simple, super quick, and super good!  Maybe it’s just one of those mental block things that I can’t get over, like a phone number, when my husband and I first started dating I could not for the life of me remember his phone number, I felt horrible, after just short of sitting down and studying it I finally got it!!  But anyways, back to peppers, well, stuffed peppers, that is. 

As for E, he’s not much of a bell pepper fan, so for him I just save some of the stuffing, is that what it’s called, stuffing, I thought stuffing went in a turkey, and he eats it by itself, and a lot of it, he loves it, last night he said, “man, this sure is good stuff mom”!  Another satisfied costumer, my job is done!

-angela

 

Stuffed Peppers

6 lg. green peppers (bell)
1 lb. ground beef
1/2 c. chopped onion
1 (16 oz.) can tomatoes, cut up not drained
1/2 c. white rice
1/2 c. water
1 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 c. shredded Colby Cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.Cut tops from bell peppers; trash seeds and all the other goods. Cook the whole green peppers, uncovered, in boiling salted water for 5 minutes, take them out, flip them over and make sure all the water is out. Sprinkle insides of peppers lightly with salt. In a skillet cook ground beef, onions until meat is browned and vegetables are tender. Drain off excess fat. Add undrained tomatoes, uncooked rice, water, salt, Worcestershire sauce, and dash of pepper. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer 15 minutes or until rice is tender. Stir in cheese. Stuff peppers with meat mixture. Place in a large baking dish. Bake, covered, in a 350 degree oven for 30 to 35 minutes. 

Makes 6 servings.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Easy Stuffed Peppers

  1. Lynn Eakes

    November 9, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I am making “unstuffed peppers tonight. When my sons were small, they really didn’t like the consistency of a cooked pepper so I don’t precook the peppers. I cut them into pieces and line the bottom of my baking dish with a layer of peppers. Then just put the filling on top. Cook covered for a time (I do precook the rice.) and then put lots of cheese on top and brown uncovered.
    Usually, the kids ended up with a little taste of the peppers–or not!
    Love your emails.
    Hang on when the earth shakes.
    Lynn Eakes in SC

     
    • What's for dinner?

      November 10, 2011 at 8:47 am

      That’s a really good idea, I wouldn’t have thought of doing it. E just doesn’t like peppers at all, nothing about consistency, but still he would get the flavor and not have to eat them!!! Thanks for sharing that!!!

      -angela

       
  2. AyeshaF

    November 12, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    I am so hungry right now, and these stuffed peppers are making my mouth water. Love the sight, will surely try.

     

Tell me what you think...

 
