RSS

New version of Poor Man’s Stew….

22 Dec

Well, as most of you know, that follow my weekly menu, last night was, Poor Man’s Stew.  I usually try to follow the recipes fairly closely, just so if I am trying something new, and going to blog about it, I can give an accurate opinion.  Last night I derailed, I went totally off course!!

To begin with, I didn’t really have “frozen vegetables” on hand, I know menu planner slacker, but I did have this little box of veggies that I had bought to take for my lunch on week, sometime ago, that I had yet to take!  It was a small Birdseye I believe, it had snow peas, cauliflower, carrots and I think that was it, but in a buttery sauce, so I used it.

I had browned my hamburger a few nights ago when I had made goulash and just still had it in the fridge, which was a time saver.  So I dumped in my hamburger, box of frozen veggies, 1 can of cut green beans, 1 can of Italian stewed tomatoes, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 small can of tomato sauce, 1.5 cans of water, a few splashes of Worcestershire Sauce, a shake or 2 of Lawry’s Season Salt, garlic salt, sea salt, and I think that’s it, wait no it’s not, 1 can of New Potatoes, sliced!  Ok, so it “kind of” follows the same guidelines, but not really!  Then I put it on medium/high heat and let it simmer until I felt it was all heated through and combined, about 30-45 minutes…You could also put it all in the CP and let it cook on low alllllllllll day which would probably make it even better.

Whether it was a “real recipe” or not, it was good, and that’s all that matters, and I would put money on it that today it’s EVEN better, I should have brought it for lunch, but I didn’t, so we might have it again tonight, and I’ll skip cooking!!!

-angela

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “New version of Poor Man’s Stew….

Tell me what you think...

 
